Carrot and Beetroot Salad

March 24, 2012 § 1 Comment

This is a version of a salad that I was served recently at Huxtaburger alongside my burger. The salad was $10, big enough to share and totally worth it. Full of pine nuts, I was particularly impressed with how generous that seemed, as pine nuts are so expensive.

Then I went to Coles and I saw pine nuts reduced from $6.50(!) to $3, and I knew what I had to do.

Serves 4 as a side dish.

Ingredients:
1 large carrot, peeled
1 small beetroot, peeled
1 tablespoon currants
1/3 cup pine nuts, lightly toasted
(if you can’t afford pine nuts, replace these with lightly toasted chopped almonds, or leave out nuts altogether)
1 tablespoon mint, finely chopped
1/4 cup finely sliced red onion
1 teaspoon cumin seeds, lightly toasted
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
2 tablespoons olive oil
ground pepper
salt

Grate your peeled veggies and put all the ingredients in a bowl except the salt, give it a good stir and let it sit for about 20 minutes. Taste it and season with salt.

Serve as a side. It’s pretty good with baked potatoes as well as burgers.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Carrot and Beetroot Salad

  • bec says:

    Inspired by Andre’s last week, I made this for my lunch today based on the ingredients I could remember. I added pineapple too 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Carrot and Beetroot Salad at And Lashings of Ginger Beer.

meta

