Pulse Fatigue

January 31, 2012 § Leave a comment

Is real.

Or at least, it is for me. It started with chickpea fatigue. I love chickpeas. Hummus is amazing! They’re so healthy! So easy to use! So cheap! But at some point I will get tired of the texture.

And it happens with other pulses too, beans and lentils. The mush just starts to gross me out. But it’s not as though all chickpeas are mushy, in fact they rarely are. Particularly if I’ve soaked them myself (overnight, in cold water, with a pinch of bi-carb soda) rather than using the tinned variety. I can roast them too and then they’re positively crunchy! But I still get pulse fatigue. Even french lentils will eventually get me down.

Perhaps this is because I rarely ate pulses as a child, they had such a bad name back then, associated as they were with the awful student gloop Neil from The Young Ones makes.  And students continue to make student gloop. That’s ok. Sometimes it’s awesome. But my parents did not.

So there you have it, an admission that, despite my love for pulses, and my continual efforts to sneak them into meals, sometimes I just can’t eat any more. And that’s when I go to China Red for a plate of chili wontons. Not one fucking pulse in the whole restaurant. Excellent.

Roasted chickpeas beer snack:

Despite the above, these really are excellent. A cheap and reasonably healthy beer snack. Be heavy-handed with the cayenne pepper if you want everyone to get drunk quicker.

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups dried chickpeas, soaked overnight in cold water with 1/2 teaspoon of bi-carb soda, or just used the canned variety
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper, ground
1 1/2 teaspoon cumin, ground
1/2 – 1 teaspoon cayenne or chili powder

Pre-heat oven to 200℃.
Mix all ingredients together in a bowl, spread chickpeas flat on a baking try lined with baking paper. Cook for about twenty minutes, giving the tray the occasional shake and ensuring they don’t burn.

Allow to cool a little before serving with drinks.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pulse Fatigue at And Lashings of Ginger Beer.

meta

