Mamak, Melbourne CBD

November 19, 2012 § 2 Comments

I tend to find places I love to eat, and then go back to them with the kind of regularity that makes me never want to eat there again. See: China Red, The European and Thien An. I’m going to try very hard not to do this with Mamak, the popular new Malaysian place in the city’s North. But the temptation is certainly there; Mamak is close to home, cheap and totally addictive.

For $5.50 their roti canai—which must be one of the better rotis in Melbourne, made as it is, in-house—is incredible value and so so good. And the nasi lemak (with a piece of fried chicken) pictured above was the best quality nasi lemak I’ve ever had.

On my last visit we also had the Rojak salad, described on the menu as “A Malaysian-style salad. Prawn and coconut fritters, fried tofu, hard-boiled eggs, freshly shredded yambean and cucumber, topped with a thick spicy peanut sauce.” Pictured below, I don’t really feel you need to know any more than that.


I think I’m too hungry to be more articulate about Mamak. It’s great value, you can get a table pretty quickly (it’s no hole-in-the-wall eatery nonsense), and you can buy a six-pack of beer at the little grocery store across the road (Mamak is BYO with a small per person corkage). Most of the food is spicy, their rich sambal is ever so slightly shrimpy, and it’s certainly the best Malaysian meal I’ve ever had in Melbourne.

Writing this post is making it really hard to stick to my guns about leaving Mamak alone for a while…

Mamak (Melbourne)
366 Lonsdale Street
Open 7 days
11:30 – 2:30
5:30 – 10:00

Mamak on Urbanspoon

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Mamak, Melbourne CBD

  • Cindy says:

    I am desperate to try their roti! Did you notice vegetarian options? I suppose if nothing else I can order sweet roti. :-D

    • Cat McInnis says:

      I don’t know, but I wouldn’t be surprised if at least one of the curries that come with the roti canai is veg. It’s not an especially vegetarian-friendly restaurant, but the rojak salad is great.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mamak, Melbourne CBD at And Lashings of Ginger Beer.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

