Crumbs Organic Bakehouse, North Melbourne

May 2, 2012 § 4 Comments

North Melbourne, you are not my favourite suburb and it can’t be helped, but thank god for Crumbs Organic Bakehouse opening up this year. It has salvaged our relationship like Prudence never could.

I lived in South Melbourne when I was younger and pretty much the only redeeming feature of that suburb was the Chimmy’s Bakery. Having a local bakery is really important to me.

And for over a year I have been living in a bakery-free zone in North Melbourne. Well, we had a Baker’s Delight, but it closed for a while and plus it doesn’t count. And then Crumbs opened up, and I was thrilled. Apparently this is the sister to a Crumbs bakery that’s been in Ascot Vale for ages, but I don’t care about that so much, I care about me! Me! ME! And my ability to buy a jam donut for breakfast, and a loaf of bread for lunch, and a pizza slice for supper.

I believe most of the produce is vegan (no cheese on that pizza slice) and everything is proper sourdough (even the donuts have this amazing sour-but-excellent taste) and the coffee is, in my experience, pretty good. They sell bread, treats, good milk and eggs. And it’s a sourdough bakery. In my neighbourhood. Enough said.

For nice photos of their bread, go here.

Crumbs Organic Bakehouse
16 Errol Street, North Melbourne
Open Monday – Friday
6.30 till 6 pm
Saturday
8.30 – 3pm

Crumbs Organic Bakehouse on Urbanspoon

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Crumbs Organic Bakehouse, North Melbourne

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Crumbs Organic Bakehouse, North Melbourne at And Lashings of Ginger Beer.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

